18 February 2020,   10:51
Irakli Kobakhidze elected as PACE Vice President

Irakli Kobakhidze, a majority member of the Georgian Parliament, has been elected as Vice President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe.

19 candidates have been elected as Vice Presidents of PACE. Twenty Vice-Presidents are elected annually at the beginning of an ordinary session and remain in office until the opening of the next session.

The voting was held as part of the Council of Europe winter session in Strasbourg.

The delegation of the Parliament of Georgia, headed by Irakli Kobakhidze, is participating in the session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe in Strasbourg.

Georgia took over the chairmanship of Council of Europe’s Committee of Ministers for a six-month term starting November 27.