13 April 2024,   17:27
EU agrees new sanctions on Russia

European Union member states agreed on a new package of sanctions against Russia, the Belgian presidency of the bloc announced, writes aa.com.tr.

“EU ambassadors just agreed in principle on a 13th package of sanctions in the framework of Russia"s aggression against Ukraine”, the presidency said in a statement posted on X.

“This package is one of the broadest approved by the EU. It will undergo a written procedure and be formally approved for 24 February”, the second anniversary of the conflict, it said.

EU foreign policy chief Josep Borrell said with the new package, the EU will add almost 200 persons and entities to the list of sanctions: “With this package, we are taking more action against entities involved in circumvention, the defence and military sectors”.

Since the beginning of Russia’s war against Ukraine in February 2022, the EU imposed 12 sets of sanctions against Russia, banning oil and coal imports and exports of high-tech technology products, as well as excluding Russian banks from the SWIFT international payment system.