18 August 2022,   12:19
European Parliament has a new president

The European Parliament has a new president. The majority of MPs supported  Italian lawmaker , former journalist David Sassoli .  In parallel, the EU member states agreed on candidates, which will have the major posts in the organization.


For the first time a woman will be the President of the European Commission. Ops agreed on a candidacy of  German Defense Minister Ursula von der Leyen nominated as Commission president; Belgian Prime Minister Charles Michel named president of the Council; IMF chief Christine Lagarde put forward to head the European Central Bank; and Spanish Foreign Minister Josep Borrell nominated as high representative for foreign affairs.