25 January 2022,   17:45
OSCE countries released a statement supporting Georgia on the 10th anniversary of the August war

A joint statement was made on behalf of the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Sweden, Poland, Romania, Czech Republic and Ukraine on the 10th anniversary of the August 2008 war.

The OSCE countries express their full support for Georgia"s sovereignty and territorial integrity within the internationally recognized borders and call on the Russian Federation to withdraw its Recognition of independence of the so-called Abkhazia and South Ossetia regions..

The statement says that after 10 years of Russian military intervention in Georgia, they are extremely concerned about the current occupation of Georgian territories and underlines the necessity of peaceful resolution of the conflict on the basis of respect of the UN Charter, the Helsinki Final Act and the Fundamental Norms and Principles of International Law .

A group of Georgian Friends in the OSCE calls on the Russian Federation to fully comply with the August 12, 2008 ceasefire agreement achieved by the EU mediations, including withdrawal from the occupied territories of Georgia.

The statement expresses deep concern over human rights violations in the regions of Abkhazia and South Ossetia of Georgia, as well as the increase of Russian military exercises and military infrastructure.

The Group of Friends also condemns the facts of murder of Georgian citizens, Archil Tatunashvili, Giga Otkhozoria and Davit Basharuli.

The Foreign Ministers of the member states of the Group of Friends of Georgia in the OSCE also released a joint video address.