22 May 2024,   03:55
Poland, Finland and Baltic states threaten to impose unilateral ban on Russian tourists

Poland, the Baltic states and Finland are threatening to unilaterally ban Russian tourists unless the European Union agrees on a much tougher common approach at a EU foreign ministers’ informal summit in Prague on Wednesday.

According to a joint statement seen by the Financial Times, the states demand measures that would “decisively decrease the flow of Russian citizens into the European Union and the Schengen area”.

“Until such measures are in place on the EU level, we will consider setting up temporary measures on the national level in order to address imminent public security issues related to the increased influx of Russian citizens across our borders”, - they said.

Poland, Finland and the Baltic states have all taken a strong stance on punishing Russia for its invasion of Ukraine and have stopped granting new visas for Russian tourists. Estonia has even cancelled visas it has already granted.