10 August 2020,   12:45
Georgian Government finalizes negotiations with several EU member states and will open its borders to the citizens of said countries without reservation

Since Georgia’s inclusion on the list of safe countries, and the issuance of the recommendation on the possible reopening of borders to these countries, the Georgian Government has been engaged in active bilateral negotiations with several EU member states. Agreements on the unconditional bilateral reopening of borders have already been achieved with several countries.

To discuss this issue, Georgian Prime Minister Giorgi Gakharia held a working meeting with the heads of relevant agencies under the Interagency Coordination Council today.

The meeting discussed the epidemiological situation in the world and Continental Europe, based on which some EU member states have, at this point, opted against opening borders to foreign citizens, including from the EU. And a 14-day quarantine at one"s own expense is still mandatory upon arrival in a number of countries.

The Government of Georgia is monitoring the global picture and takes cautious steps to protect the health of its citizens.

Concrete decisions have already been made. These decisions will be made public at today’s briefing scheduled for 11 AM at the Administration of the Government.

The Georgian authorities continue active cooperation with partner EU member states. Based on the relevant recommendation, the rules for entering Georgia and for Georgian citizens entering various EU states will be reviewed once every other week.