13 August 2022,   17:21
Spain, Canada and France join list of countries closing skies to Russian airlines

Russian airlines face a near-total airspace blockade to the country’s west after an EU official said most European countries are set to impose flight bans.

A formal decision is expected on the measure later on Sunday.

One by one, European countries said they were closing their airspace, including Germany for three months. Spain, Canada and France separately announce that they are closing their airspace to Russian carriers.