01 December 2022,   16:45
Abramovich and Deripaska among 7 oligarchs targeted in estimated £15 billion sanction hit

The UK has announced sanctions against 7 oligarchs including Roman Abramovich and Oleg Deripaska.

Those newly-sanctioned by the UK include Roman Abramovich, owner of Chelsea Football Club, worth more than £9 billion; leading industrialist Oleg Deripaska worth £2 billion, and Rosneft CEO Igor Sechin. A further group of Russia-based oligarchs close to Putin have also been placed under sanction. Those sanctioned today are:

Roman Abramovich owner of Chelsea FC and has stakes in steel giant Evraz and Norilsk Nickel
Oleg Deripaska has stakes in En+ Group
Igor Sechin is the Chief Executive of Rosneft
Andrey Kostin is Chairman of VTB bank
Alexei Miller is CEO of energy company Gazprom
Nikolai Tokarev is president of the Russia state-owned pipeline company Transneft
Dmitri Lebedev is Chairman of the Board of Directors of Bank Rossiya