27 May 2024,   10:22
Legal Issues Committee supports candidates for CEC chairmanship and membership

The Legal Issues Committee endorsed the candidacies of Giorgi Kalandarishvili nominated for the position of Chairman of the Central Election Commission of Georgia, and Maia Zaridze, Giorgi Sharabidze, and Gia Tsatsashvili nominated for the positions of three members of the Central Election Commission.

Prior to the voting, the Committee heard the candidates" vision regarding the activities of the CEC and addressed questions from the deputies.

The candidates were selected by the relevant competition commission and presented to the Speaker of the Parliament of Georgia.

Note: with the changes implemented in the Election Code, the process of electing the chairman and members of the CEC by the Parliament has three stages. In particular, 90 votes are needed in the first voting. If 90 votes cannot be secured, the nominated candidate will be elected with 76 votes. It will be possible to receive support with 76 votes twice for specific candidates. Candidates elected with 76 votes will start exercising their powers for a period of 5 years.